Plenary Sessions

MONDAY – 18.04.2016, 10:00 – 11:45



  1. Andrzej Adamczyk, Minister of Infrastructure and Construction, Poland
  2. Mateusz Morawiecki, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Development, Poland
  3. Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation (video)
  4. Violeta Bulc, European Commissioner for Transport
  5. Jerzy Buzek, Member of European Parliament, Poland
  6. Greg Nadeau, Administrator Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), USA
  7. Jean-Luc di Paola Galloni, Co-chairman, European Road Transport Research Advisory Council (ERTRAC) / Valeo Group Corporate Vice-President
  8. Leszek Rafalski, Road and Bridge Research Institute in Warsaw, Poland

TRAVISIONS Student Award Ceremony

MONDAY – 18.04.2016, 12:15 – 13:45

PLENARY 1: Creating One Europe – The Role Of Transport

Summary of planned session content:

This first session will cover the importance of transport in the EU economy. With key presentations by high-level representatives from ITF/OECD, the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) organisation, the Austrian Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology, UNIFE, the Czech Ministry of Transport and Procter and Gamble, the themes covered by this session will describe:

  • Transport as an integrating factor;
  • The changing transport and demographic scenarios in Europe;
  • Transport infrastructure challenges;
  • The role of TEN T & the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) in implementing innovation and supporting economic development in European regions.

List of Speakers:

  1. José Viegas, Secretary-General, International Transport Forum, OECD
  2. Catherine Trautmann, European Coordinator for the TEN-T North Sea-Baltic Corridor
  3. Ursula Zechner, Director-General for Transport, Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology, Austria
  4. Philippe Citroën, Director General, Association of the European Rail Industry (UNIFE)
  5. Dan Tok, Minister of Transport, Czech Republic
  6. Peter van Terwisga, Research Director, Damen Shipyards, The Netherlands
  7. Ralph Keck, Chairman, Alliance for Logistics Innovation through Collaboration in Europe (ALICE)/Director, Product Supply – Global Logistics, Procter & Gamble

TUESDAY – 19.04.2016, 10:15 – 12:00

PLENARY 2: Automation in Transport

Summary of planned session content:

This second session, which features high-level transport automation experts from the University of Michigan, the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) Inland Transport Committee, the Dutch Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, BOSCH and the Syndicat des transports d’Île-de-France (STIF), will discuss:

  • Automation across modes;
  • Users’ perceptions;
  • Challenges and opportunities for a fast developing technology, the role of industry;
  • Regulatory needs;
  • Social benefits;
  • How automation change transport & lifestyles;
  • Different timing scenarios.

List of Speakers:

  1. Catharina Elmsäter-Svärd, Chairwoman, Programme Board, Drive Sweden
  2. Jan Hendrik Dronkers, Director-General, Rijkswaterstaat, The Netherlands
  3. Stephan Hönle, Senior Vice President Engineering Chassis Systems Control, Robert Bosch GmbH, Germany
  4. Peter Sweatman, CAVita, USA
  5. Andy Doherty, Chief Technical Officer, Network Rail / Chairman, ERRAC
  6. Jerzy Kleniewski, Chairman, Inland Transport Committee, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

WEDNESDAY – 20.04.2016, 10:15 – 12:00

PLENARY 3: Energy and Transport : how to meet decarbonisation, fuel security and efficiency targets of the future

Summary of planned session content:

Topics in this session, which include energy and transport experts from BMW, UIC, CONCAWE, Transport & Environment, Warstila Finland Oy (tbc) and Volkswagen Poznań Sp. z o.o., cover:

  • Energy efficiency;
  • Alternative fuels (HFC, LNG, BIOFUELS, etc.);
  • Future optimal energy sources;
  • Progress in electrification and other clean vehicles.

The session will also ensure a clear link to Energy Union strategy and should highlight possible future actions and developments.

List of Speakers:

  1. Jos Dings, Executive Director, Transport & Environment, The Netherlands
  2. Marcus Bollig,  BMW Research and Innovation, Germany
  3. Jens Ocksen, CEO, Volkswagen Poland
  4. Jean-Pierre Loubinoux, Director General, International Union of Railways (UIC), France
  5. Mario Dogliani, Ministry of Transport, Italy
  6. Robin Nelson, Science Director, CONCAWE, UK

THURSDAY – 21.04.2016, 12:00 – 14:00

PLENARY 4: Mobility For Tomorrow


Future scenarios at global level; radical changes in demography and transport paradigms; changing economic models and mobility and logistics patterns. The session is aimed at giving an overview of transport scenarios of the next decades in view of the changing  socio-economic conditions at a global scale.

List of Speakers:

  1. Eric Ballot, Professor of Industrial Engineering and Supply Chain, MINES ParisTech, France
  2. Dominika Baster, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
  3. Martin Hajek, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
  4. Raimo Tapio, Chairman, Governing Board, Conference of European Directors of Roads/Vice Director General, Finnish Transport Agency


Conclusions and overview of conference outcome:

  1. Chair: Magda Kopczynska, Director, European Commission, DG Mobility and Transport
  2. Neil Pedersen, Executive Director, Transportation Research Board (TRB) – TRA/TRB opportunities for collaboration
  3. Chris Irwin, European Advisor, Transport Focus – Conclusions and overview of conference outcome

Hand over to the next host:

  1. Jacek Wojciechowicz, Deputy Mayor of Warsaw, Poland – A farewell word
  2. Piotr Stomma, Polish Deputy Minister for Infrastructure and Construction – Hand over to the next host
  3. Ursula Zechner, Director-General for Transport, Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology, Austria